A Little Inspiration

Once upon a time, I was going through a difficult transition in my life. At the time I was working as a Customer Service Rep for my parents’ business and I apparently found it very helpful to write motivational quotes on sticky notes and decorate my desk with them. After that job, the sticky notes transferred from the desk to my easel and since I’ve been taking my art stuff out lately, I’ve run across a few of them.

Although there are more significant ways to find wisdom (i.e. reading the Bible), there really is something calming and empowering by reading the learned wisdom of others before us.

Today I hit a rock for the first time in a couple of weeks. The house was overwhelming, especially since I also need to make time to work out and then most importantly, finish working on a painting I started a couple of days ago. As usual, all of this needs to be organized in such a way that is compatible with Isaac, which isn’t always predictable. For one reason or another, I just wasn’t prepared to deal with all of that today. So, though I’ve cut out caffeine from my diet (probably for a month now, which has been overall so helpful), I made the decision to make an exception today.

As a result, I’ve made a lot of progress with the house which got me thinking about those motivational quotes, because at one point I remember feeling so positive about the tasks ahead. Self-talk really makes or breaks our ability to do anything.

So, I thought I’d just come up with a few motivational quotes that I’ve appreciated and share them with you in case you find yourself facing one of those days. Of course, these were quotes I looked to for different reasons other than finding the motivation to clean, I only thought of them today because of the “self-talk” aspect of today, so I apologize if these seem to refer to much bigger issues:

“Failure is not the falling down, but the staying down…” – Mary Pickford

“Things turn out the best for the people who make the best of the way things turn out.” – Art Linkletter

“The best way to predict your future is to create it” – I’ve seen this attributed to several people, so I’m not sure :/

“Twenty years from now, you will be more disappointed by the things you didn’t do than the things you did do. So throw off the bowlines, sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.” – Mark Twain

“You cannot build a reputation on what you’re going to do.” – Henry Ford

“Forget the reasons why something may not work. You only need to find one good reason why it will.” – Dr. Robert Anthony

“It’s never too late to become what you might have become.” – George Elliot

“If you’re going through hell, keep going.” – Winston Churchill

“When you reach the end of your rope, tie a knot in it and hang on.” – Thomas Jefferson

“Opportunity does not knock. It presents itself when you beat down the door.” – Kyle Chandler

“By three methods we may learn wisdom: First, by reflection, which is noblest; Second, by imitation, which is easiest; and third by experience, which is the bitterest.” – Confucius

“The only true wisdom is in knowing you know nothing.” – Socrates

“I’d rather regret the things I’ve done than regret the things I haven’t done.” – Lucille Ball

“Obstacles are those frightful things you see when you take your eyes off the goal.” – Henry Ford

“It is not easy to find happiness within ourselves and it is not possible to find it elsewhere.” – Agnes Repplier

One thought on “A Little Inspiration

Discuss!

