Adventures in Art

If you know me personally on Facebook, this will all be redundant, but I wanted to share the artwork I’ve done, some things I’m working on and of course, Isaac’s first artistic experiments. It’s something I’ve been excited about it, so naturally, I should blog about it. ;)

The painting began before Christmas, all gifts for my family:

Image

Arabian for my mom, the horse fanatic. Oil

Image

Sophie the bulldog, for my mother-in-law. Oil

Image

A picture taken of my grandpa and Isaac from our trip to Michigan last summer.

Image

The most stressful piece, for my dad the gun fanatic. Oil. I don’t do still life.

Also, here’s a look into what my husband dealt with for a couple of weeks of painting:

Image

After these were finished and I didn’t have any other painting ideas, I messed around with charcoal (which I also don’t do), and came up with these two:

Image

Isaac

Image

From a picture I took at an art museum in Chicago.

So, then I ran out of ideas and decided to make some homemade finger paints and put Isaac to work:

Image

Image

Image

Finally, last night, after I picked up some crayons and markers (because apparently we didn’t own any?!), Isaac produced this masterpiece:

Image

I know it’s silly, and I officially feel like such a mom, but I really am framing this. It’s so neat to see him play with art, even if he’s only 15 months and it’s really just chaotic scribbling. ;)

Anyway, now I get to start on a project with colored pencils (Prismacolor), which I have not done in so long, and here’s my workspace currently (notice the exciting new work lamp):

Image

And I found this ooold pic from the studio my parents set up for me while I was living at home. I have always been the messiest artist, and don’t ask about what I’m doing because I don’t know – I’m pretty sure I threw that piece away after I was done. ;)

Image

One thought on “Adventures in Art

Discuss!

