Must Schools Teach The Bible? – Guest Post by Thailer Jimerson

By Thailer

That’s right. I’m asking the question: ‘Must schools and different institutions teach the Bible?’ The answer is ‘no.’ As a Christian who has access to facebook, you can only imagine the various things people say that provoke a lot of meditation on my part. There are many pictures and quips being tossed around that reveal that many Bible-believing Christians think schools should teach the Bible and that the fact that the Bible is removed from schools has resulted in the depraved society in which we live. But is that completely true? Such an example follows: “Schools were started by churches to teach children how to read the Bible…Now we can’t read the Bible in schools! See the problem?” No. This is the problem I see: God never intended for schools to be teaching children the Bible. No schools or any man-made institution were to be the origin of a child’s spiritual education. Now, if they want to, great (I’m not against it). If they don’t, big surprise; it’s an institution of the world, not one that God erected!

God set up the home for a reason. God didn’t even specify the church to teach children the Bible, but rather, their parents at home (Ephesians 6:4). If people were following the Biblical pattern to begin with, it wouldn’t matter if the schools were teaching them. The fact that parents have drifted further and further away from wanting their children to understand the things of God and being spiritual, to seeing if they can get a college education and enrolling them into as many after school programs that they can to drown out any of the little time they have left for spiritual things, reflects the attitude of a people long departed from God. The judgment of God for such an attitude? ‘Give them up to their desires’ (Romans 1:24, 26). Teaching children at home was God’s plan.

Please know what I am not saying: 1) I’m against the Bible being taught in schools, 2) I’m for evolution being taught in schools, 3) The Bible being taken out of schools is not part of the problem with the moral degradation of society. If a school wants to teach the Bible, that’s just fine; Evolution is a godless teaching imposed on our children that should be stopped; and the removal of the Bible from schools is a problem, but not THE problem. The problem is that more and more parents are more concerned about ‘tearing down their barns to build greater’ (Luke 12:18) by taking on the extra hours at work, rather than seeing to it their children are taught about God and the Bible (I’m certainly not referring to those who must work extra to maintain any kind of livelihood). Some are too concerned with providing their children the best in this life, rather than making sure their children will reach the better half of the next.

What should we do? We need to be sharing the gospel with more adults so that their hearts can be changed so that they will make sure their children are being taught about God at home. The biblical pattern for teaching children of God at home should never change for this very reason: God established such. His plans never fail. His wisdom exceeds that of many men who think the problem is that schools do not teach the Bible. If more parents were teaching their children at home about God, would it really matter if the Bible was taken out of schools?

Some helpful Scriptures:

1. Fathers, do not provoke your children to anger, but bring them up in the discipline and instruction of the Lord. (Ephesians 6:4)

2. Hear, O Israel: The Lord our God, the Lord is one. You shall love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your might. And these words that I command you today shall be on your heart. You shall teach them diligently to your children, and shall talk of them when you sit in your house, and when you walk by the way, and when you lie down, and when you rise. You shall bind them as a sign on your hand, and they shall be as frontlets between your eyes. You shall write them on the doorposts of your house and on your gates. (Deuteronomy 6:4-9)

3. We will not hide them from their children, but tell to the coming generation the glorious deeds of the Lord, and his might, and the wonders that he has done. He established a testimony in Jacob and appointed a law in Israel, which he commanded our fathers to teach to their children, that the next generation might know them, the children yet unborn, and arise and tell them to their children, so that they should set their hope in God and not forget the works of God, but keep his commandments. (Psalm 78:4-7)

If the world and it’s various institutions fall around us, let us not fret any longer as sons of men, but as sons of God, let us continue to entrust the knowledge of our God to the next generation; let’s teach our children the Bible as a family, in the home, like our Father intended. Maybe then, if we lovingly commit the glorious gospel to our children, they will ‘set their hope in God and not forget the works of God, but keep His commandments.’

Thailer Jimerson

6 thoughts on “Must Schools Teach The Bible? – Guest Post by Thailer Jimerson

  1. Great thoughts Thailer!!! around the same subject…I am not against home-schooling, but the question is aren’t we to let our light shine? How do people think this can be done by sheltering their children from the world? I have raised my 4 children, so I understand the crazy things that are out their. But I also believe, for the most part, that my children were good examples to many. I just hate to see so many good families put their children in a bubble and not let others see God’s light.

    • Hi Lisa,
      I know you said it was “around the same subject” but I did want to clarify that Thailer wasn’t advocating homeschooling by this particular article. :)

      Nevertheless, you bring up some relevant points! We absolutely are supposed to let our light shine and I want to point out that withdrawing a child from the public schools does not withdraw them from society altogether. We plan to homeschool, and we also plan to take them when we visit others, to homeschooling groups, with us when my husband works to evangelize other areas and in other social opportunities available (sports, art, 4-H, etc.) that won’t conflict with their spiritual commitments.

      Also, children are very impressionable and their best light-shining years will probably be once they’ve grown and made the conscious decision to be baptized into Christ and live out their life in accordance with His will- not in elementary school.

      The time we have as parents of young children is very short and is fundamental in creating a foundation for God in that child’s heart- those short years need to be focused on cultivating obedience to and a love for God so that they will have discernment and endurance before we send them into the world completely.

      Some homeschooled children are, as you said, sheltered and in a bubble. But it is our conviction that, done God’s way, homeschooled children will just grow up to be strong Christians and more pure in heart than many (certainly not all!) of their public-school counterparts.

      In the big picture, while the world may scoff at parents who choose to homeschool, we believe the more important concern is how God will view our interpretation of Ephesians 6:4, in light of the statistics and facts of public vs. homeschooling.

      Ultimately, every parent needs to make their decision with prayer and minds set on God- we aren’t making any presumptuous judgment on those who chose not to homeschool, I just wanted to provide you with answers from my own personal conviction. :) Maybe someday I’ll write a complete entry on our reasons for homeschooling!

  2. Wonderful post. I teach about 160 kids every sunday at kids church and this is what we are dealing with. Parents who think it is our responsibility (and school teachers and coaches etc) to teach their kids about God. But that is not true to some extent because we do have a responsibility as teachers and coaches and so on but at the same time parents need to accept the bulk of the work. It is the responsibility of the parents to raise their kids in the knowledge of the Lord.

    Rolain.

  3. “…the removal of the Bible from schools is a problem, but not THE problem.”

    Wow! Great truth, even if we don’t want to hear it!
    I used to think the same way about the Bible being taken out of schools, as the reason behind our decline. Then, when my Pastor made the statement that, “I don’t send my children to school to learn the Bible. I send my children to school to learn to read, to write, to learn science, etc … They are supposed to learn the Bible, and learn about being a Godly influence in an ungodly world, at home. Then, they can go out and be God’s light …”
    I was taken aback by the first part of the statement, then I realized the truth of the second part of the statement.
    I agree that, when I (“we”) went to school (in the “old days”), the schools backed up what children learned at home. Now, they don’t get the Godly upbringing at home, and the schools aren’t allowed …
    This whole argument reminds me of a similar way of thinking I used to have: I was always a strong supporter of the death penalty … until my Pastor said, “How can I support the death penalty, and be against abortion?”

    Allow me to close with this statement: As someone who, yes, works in the public school system, I can say this, with authority: Yes, God is allowed in my school. The Holy Spirit is allowed in my school. And, Jesus is allowed in my school. I bring Him with me. Where I am, He is. He never leaves me … even when I’m not at home … or at church.
    The real trouble is that, either people don’t have Him, or they don’t allow Him, or they “turn Him off” when they walk up the steps. The steps to their job, the steps to their school, etc.
    Thanks so much for this article. Let’s pray all will read it all.
    And, get it!
    Blessings,
    Ted
    http://www.pastorappreciationblog.com

  4. Reblogged this on pastorappreciationblog and commented:
    “…the removal of the Bible from schools is a problem, but not THE problem.”

    Wow! Great truth, even if we don’t want to hear it!
    I used to think the same way about the Bible being taken out of schools, as the reason behind our decline. Then, when my Pastor made the statement that, “I don’t send my children to school to learn the Bible. I send my children to school to learn to read, to write, to learn science, etc … They are supposed to learn the Bible, and learn about being a Godly influence in an ungodly world, at home. Then, they can go out and be God’s light …”
    I was taken aback by the first part of the statement, then I realized the truth of the second part of the statement.
    I agree that, when I (“we”) went to school (in the “old days”), the schools backed up what children learned at home. Now, they don’t get the Godly upbringing at home, and the schools aren’t allowed …
    This whole argument reminds me of a similar way of thinking I used to have: I was always a strong supporter of the death penalty … until my Pastor said, “How can I support the death penalty, and be against abortion?”

    Allow me to close with this statement: As someone who, yes, works in the public school system, I can say this, with authority: Yes, God is allowed in my school. The Holy Spirit is allowed in my school. And, Jesus is allowed in my school. I bring Him with me. Where I am, He is. He never leaves me … even when I’m not at home … or at church.
    The real trouble is that, either people don’t have Him, or they don’t allow Him, or they “turn Him off” when they walk up the steps. The steps to their job, the steps to their school, etc.
    Thanks so much for this article. Let’s pray all will read it all.
    Blessings,
    Ted

Discuss!

