Progress in Adopting Tania

A while ago, I posted about an orphan named Tania in Ukraine that is in the process of being adopted by a Christian family.

You can still make donations and read about their story here.

I wanted to keep the blogosphere in the loop, though: Saturday evening we went with some friends to the annual Sacred Selections fundraiser in Indianapolis, the proceeds of which went to that particular family. The Sacred Selections Facebook Page reported this morning:

“Indianapolis you did Not disappoint! The Good Saints there raised over $7,385 and with the $5,000 matching challenge from 1213 Online the total was $12,385! The Williams have nearly all the money they need to help Rescue Tania from certain peril as she will age out of the Ukrainian Orphanage August 13!”

I know this isn’t the end of the story, but it is so uplifting and such a relief and I had to share and hopefully encourage others who had read about Tania.

It was so encouraging to see brethren on Saturday that we don’t usually have the chance to see, and to make new friendships with such good-hearted people trying to accomplish the same goal. It was moving to listen and watch as previous Sacred Selections families told their tearful stories. It was sobering to listen to the founder describe the system in Ukraine, and the children she’d come in contact with and fortunately, been able to help. It was refreshing to see the joyful and abundant contributions during the light-hearted auction and ultimately, it was comforting to hear the final result, and to see progress in even just one heart-breaking story.

I admire the families that step out and pursue fostering or adoption, despite the risks, the heartbreaks, the uncertainty.

There are many decisions to make as disciples of Christ, and many reasons to avoid making them, such as safety, health or financial security yet thankfully, there are far greater reasons to act in our faith and loosen our grip on this earth, such as the welcoming voice of Christ on that final Day.

“For I consider that the sufferings of this present time are not worth comparing with the glory that is to be revealed to us.” – Romans 8:18

““When the Son of Man comes in his glory, and all the angels with him, then he will sit on his glorious throne. Before him will be gathered all the nations, and he will separate people one from another as a shepherd separates the sheep from the goats. And he will place the sheep on his right, but the goats on the left. Then the King will say to those on his right, ‘Come, you who are blessed by my Father, inherit the kingdom prepared for you from the foundation of the world. For I was hungry and you gave me food, I was thirsty and you gave me drink, I was a stranger and you welcomed me, I was naked and you clothed me, I was sick and you visited me, I was in prison and you came to me.’ Then the righteous will answer him, saying, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry and feed you, or thirsty and give you drink? And when did we see you a stranger and welcome you, or naked and clothe you? And when did we see you sick or in prison and visit you?’ And the King will answer them, ‘Truly, I say to you, as you did it to one of the least of these my brothers,you did it to me.’ Then he will say to those on his left, ‘Depart from me, you cursed, into the eternal fire prepared for the devil and his angels. For I was hungry and you gave me no food, I was thirsty and you gave me no drink, I was a stranger and you did not welcome me, naked and you did not clothe me, sick and in prison and you did not visit me.’ Then they also will answer, saying, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry or thirsty or a stranger or naked or sick or in prison, and did not minister to you?’ Then he will answer them, saying, ‘Truly, I say to you, as you did not do it to one of the least of these, you did not do it to me.’ And these will go away into eternal punishment, but the righteous into eternal life.” – Matthew 25:31-46

4 thoughts on “Progress in Adopting Tania

  1. Wow. This is beautiful! My pastors just adopted a little girl from Peru and since I heard of them starting their adoption campaign, I have notice so many others doing the same. The book of James talks about caring for the widows and orphans. I think that you sharing this is doing just that, caring for orphaned children. This is fulfilling the call of Christ. So inspirational!

    • I love hearing of families adopting children in need! Thank you for sharing. I agree-it’s very encouraging and since I learned of Sacred Selections, my mind has really been opened to James 1:27 and now my husband and I are hoping we’ll be able to adopt later. In the meantime, I really appreciate the families that can and do and I hope others will be inspired by those families as well!

      • Well, it’ll be awhile, so our plans could change but we’d like to look into Vietnam or similar areas. However, we’d both like to be available for any situations that may come up. Basically, we aren’t very picky: we’d like to do international adoption, but if someone came to us, we wouldn’t turn them away. :)

Discuss!

