From Corinthians to Philippians

 

I’ve “needed” a new Bible for awhile now and after months of trying out one of my husband’s older ones, I’ve finally claimed it as my own. In order to make it all official, I’ve begun going through and highlighting passages.

Maybe it’s the baby on my lap, but it has been so long since I’ve been able to follow along during a service with my Bible, and somehow I also got out of the practice of highlighting verses, even while studying at home.

Many people have the scriptures ingrained in their minds, and I really admire that and hope to work more toward that. In the meantime, I was amazed by the difference it made for me personally to get in the Word with a highlighter – my terrible memory is becoming kind-of-okay! So, this morning I briskly went from 1 Corinthians to Philippians, skimming, highlighting, reading and studying, which was just a wonderful and edifying way for me to start this day.

So, I thought I’d try to edify you all and share just a passage or two (okay, probably more than that from 1 Corinthians) from each of those books that stood out to me:

1 Corinthians

Worldly wisdom and pride

“…Has not God made foolish the wisdom of the world?” – 1:20

“Let the one who boasts, boast in the Lord.” – 1:31

“For I decided to know nothing among you except Jesus Christ and Him crucified.” – 2:2 (one of my favorite verses)

“For the wisdom of this world is folly with God.” – 3:19

In a boastful and proud day, these verses bring so much guidance and comfort to me.  May we all grow to humble ourselves, yet exalt  only God and the things of Him in our lives.

Judging

“But now I am writing to you not to associate with anyone who bears the name of brother if he is guilty of sexual immorality or greed, or is an idolater, reviler, drunkard, or swindler – not even to eat with such a one. For what have I to do with judging outsiders? Is it not those inside the church whom you are to judge? God judges those outside. “Purge the evil person from among you.” – 5:11-13

A far cry from the “don’t judge me” we so often hear from even those who “bear the name of brother.” A needed reminder that we are the called-out; we are not the world and we are not to conform ourselves to the world. With love and gentleness, we Christians need to help each other endure until the end, lest any be found disqualified (9:26, 27).

Sex

“The body is not meant for sexual immorality, but for the Lord, and the Lord for the body.” – 6:13

“Flee from sexual immorality.” – 6:18

“Or do you not know that your body is a temple of the Holy Spirit within you, whom you have from God? You are not your own, for you were bought with a price. So glorify God in your body.” – 6:18-20

So relevant in today’s culture. If you are a Christian, it is sin to have sex outside of marriage. Period. Glorify God in your body. “For if we go on sinning deliberately after receiving the knowledge of the truth, there no longer remains a sacrifice for sins…” – Hebrews 10:26

Paul’s teachings

“If anyone thinks that he is a prophet, or spiritual, he should acknowledge that the things I am writing to you are a command of the Lord. If anyone does not recognize this, he is not recognized.” – 14:37,38

Just a good reminder that the teachings of God didn’t end when the red letters were done.

2 Corinthians

New creation

“and He died for all, that those who live might no longer live for themselves but for Him who for their sake died and was raised.” – 5:15

“Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation.” – 5:17

“Working together with Him then, we appeal to you not to receive the grace of God in vain.” – 6:1

Clearly, a distinct change is expected of His people. If the analogy is that you were dead and now are alive, doesn’t that suggest an undeniable difference in your person?

Confronting and godly sorrow

“For even if I made you grieve with my letter, I do not regret it – though I did regret it, for I see that that letter grieved you, though only for a while. As it is, I rejoice, not because you were grieved, but because you were grieved into repenting….For godly grief produces a repentance that leads to salvation without regret, whereas worldly grief produces death.” – 7:8-10

Kind of ties into my last post.

Galatians

People-pleasing

“For am I now seeking the approval of man, or of God? Or am I trying to please man? If I were still trying to please man, I would not be a servant of Christ.” – 1:10

The truth is, if you’re dedicated to applying the word of God to your life, you’re going to stir up some people- some to love and repentance, and some to anger and indignation. May we stay true to God.

Do good

“And let us not grow weary of doing good, for in due season we will reap, if we do not give up. So then, as we have opportunity, let us do good to everyone, and especially to those who are of the household of faith.” – 6:9,10

Everyone needs encouragement, so I decided to share this (though there is obviously sooo much more to learn from Galatians (and the other books we’re going through))

Ephesians

Work and sharing

“Let the thief no longer steal, but rather let him labor, doing honest work with his own hands, so that he may have something to share with anyone in need.” – 4:28

I love the book of Ephesians, but in order to keep this short, I just wanted to share a verse that has been on my heart lately. My attitude toward money has grown as I’ve grown: before I was a Christian, I enjoyed money and spending on myself and had much concern over saving and earning, like everyone else. When I became a Christian, I felt comfort as I developed less concern for having money and “things” and even a degree, knowing that my treasure was not on this earth. Yet, as I grew, I found a new appreciation for managing our money and cutting down even more of what little we do enjoy in this life so that we may have more to give to those in need. For once in my life, I wish I could be wealthy, simply so I could give more.

Philippians

Humility

“Do nothing from selfish ambition or conceit, but in humility count others more significant than yourselves.” – 2:3

“Have this mind among yourselves, which is yours in Christ Jesus, who, though He was in the form of God, did not count equality with God a thing to be grasped, but emptied Himself, by taking the form of a servant…” 2:5-7

Since we started with worldly wisdom and pride, we’ll end with humility. These verses are just huge to me, and honestly, how disgusting must it be for Almighty God to see us (who truly have nothing to boast about) become proud and haughty or conceited, when His Son (who truly has all to boast about) humbled Himself to the point of mockery, torture and even death? And how well do we fare when someone only insults us? Clearly, we need to put pride far from our minds and grow in the humility of our Lord.

This was more than I anticipated- there is just so much to share! Maybe I’ll do this sort of thing on occasion and just post some verses that I’ve been thinking about.

2 thoughts on “From Corinthians to Philippians

  1. Thank you so much for subscribing to following my blog! I’ve enjoyed reading yours as well! May you be blessed of the Lord as you continue to reach out to Him and then pass on to others what He shows you! God Bless you!

Discuss!

